Posted by: Abe's Blog | June 6, 2011

Tornado Benefit Gospel Concert

My presence in the blogosphere has been lacking as I have been focusing my energy on music for the past few months. Recently, the devestation in the Southern US caused by the tornados and floods moved me to put together a benefit gospel concert to raise money for victims of these events. Saturday night we held our concert in a beautiful building in Roseburg, Oregon.

I was excited about this event for many reasons, one being this would be the first time in many years that I would be playing with a full band and the first time ever performing with female vocalists helping. One of these ladies happens to be my wife. She has a world-class voice. In the video I’ve posted below, she is singing Leonard Cohen’s “Hallelujah”. The audience was moved to tears by this performance.

The concert was a success. A modest crowd of approximately 50 people donated over $700 to the cause! I was happy to be able to sell some of my solo piano CD’s as well. What an incredible evening.

Responses

  1. A truly breath taking performance. Jolene has an angel’s voice. And your playing was so beautiful. Hope I can make the next one. And congrats on the CD. I know you’ve worked really hard on that not-so-little project. Can hardly wait to hear the finished product. Have a great day.

    • Thank you! Yes, she has a truly amazing voice and I am excited that she will be using it more often. Thanks for the congrats on the CD. It is actually the same one that I sent you, only it has been professionally duplicated and printed and has a fancy new sleeve with artwork. I’ll send you one so you have the “real deal” 🙂

  2. Awesome! But don’t forget to autograph it. It’ll be valuable one day… I have much faith. 😉


Leave a Reply

Categories

