Posted by: Abe's Blog | March 10, 2011

Old School – An Audio Post

Tenmile Community United Methodist Church, est. 1857

I have had a dream for a hundred years. Or maybe it has only been 20 or 30 … I can’t keep track. But my dream has been to once again share my music with live audiences. In recent years, some doors have begun to open for me, especially in the gospel music scene. A friend and fellow performer has invited me to play and sing at an upcoming event in a country church built in 1857.  

In preparing for this concert, I have been learning some of the old hymns. As a young man, I thought that I disliked this music. But, with the onset of early middle-age, I find that I was wrong; I love these old songs! I was learning one today and decided to record it in the studio. This is “My Jesus I Love Thee”:

Responses

  1. I haven’t been here in a long while so I just found this one. I have to say, when you let yourself go and really project your voice it’s so sweet to hear. I remember that voice of yours. Funny, back then I never thought I hear you sing this one quite so beautifully. Really nice.

    • Thank you. I appreciate that. Time changes everything, doesn’t it!

  2. Some things do change, others… not so much. =)


Leave a Reply

Categories

