Posted by: Abe's Blog | June 25, 2010

This Is How It Is–An Audio Post

What started out today as a quick stress-relieving drum session, quickly snow-balled into a crazy song about…I can’t even begin to explain. Let’s just say that it was shaped by recent tragic events, though it is a humorous take on oppression (or suppression)–if there could be such a thing.

There comes a time in almost everyone’s life when a person must take a stand for or against something or someone. Some of us have gone through a period of our lives when we were deeply oppressed.  Some of you may still be going through such a trial.  Though these trials may seem to crush the very spirit from our soul, in fact they make us all the stronger. If we can survive this, we will be strong.  Those of us who have walked the dark path of abuse and destruction and have emerged alive and blinking into the light of “normality” will never view the world the same again. Every joy is greater, every sound is sweeter. We timidly test the waters of relationships again, ready to bolt at the slightest burn, yet we find that the world is filled with beautiful people who will love us and cherish us and reciprocate our tenderness.  

We gain confidence, we gain strength, but we burn with indignant fire if we see another going through the pain we have escaped from.

I may be rambling. I wrote a song today on accident. It’s crazy. But I want you to hear it. I am attempting to communicate something, and I am having a whole lot of fun doing it. Remember, don’t take me too seriously–that will just cause confusion.

This Is How It Is, By Jethro Abram Mantle, (c) 2010

If you subscribe to this blog via email, the song player may not show up in the email blog. Just follow the link to veiw the blog in WordPress. Thank you for subscribing! JAM

Responses

  1. Jethro, I really like this one. Thanks for sharing. You do crazy well.

    • Thank you, Ken. I’ve had lots of inspiration.

  2. Just go with it! Outstanding!

  3. Hahahahaha! That made me giggle at first and then laugh outloud — this was funny – maybe it’s when the music died off that made me feel like you were being funny? I hope that was your intention. Thanx for that.

    • Carmen! You got it! Yes, this is me trying to be funny through song. There are a few clues through the song, including my tremendously awful trombone solo. What cued you in?

  4. Fun blog and tune. You never cease to amaze me. I caught a message in there about music in general. Very nifty indeed. Where’s the compilation CD?

    • Thank you, Suz. I’m working on the CD and will send you one when it’s ready. I need some guitar work!

      • I want to be the president of the Abe fanclub 🙂

        • I will send you your t-shirt and buttons 🙂

  5. Awesome! Love it. I especially love the dichotomy in life of how people are just like that…. I am right and you are wrong, but I can change my mind, it happens all the time.

    That is so freaking true and such a part of life. To me that was a key to me learning a lot about humility and what it meant to me. I was so adamant about being right, and then later in life caught myself changing my mind on stuff I was so completely adamant about before.

    Then I noticed that I had developed a habit of being even more adamant about being right, after all, I was so supremely confident when I had been wrong, of course I should be way more confident and adamant now that I am right. hahahaha…. but what if I change my mind AGAIN. lol…

    THEN, as if I needed to humiliate myself any more…. I realized how often I really truly did not listen to people because of something I refused to consider I may be wrong about. That was so much safer… haha… don’t ever even remotely contemplate being wrong and I can be as adamant and right as I want to be.

    Suffice it to say… this all screwed with my head and made me accept that no matter how positive I am, I could be wrong.

    It is vital we stand for something, though. That we believe in what we understand, accept and know. Even though we could be wrong. If we never believe in anything we think, we are not going to have some basis from which to grow.

    Loved this blog, and enjoyed the song, Abe.

    • Thank you, Drew. It is really great to me to see how each person interprets these songs. We all look at them through the filters of our past and we each take a slightly different meaning from them. I think your take is great! I know what motivated me to start writing the song, but it kind of took on a life of it’s own.

      Thanks again, Drew!

  6. Drew,
    Great to see you here! I don’t know if you’ve subscribed to Abe, but I hope you do! Be sure to back track on some of his other stuff here 🙂
    XOXO
    Suz


Leave a Reply

Categories

