Posted by: Abe's Blog | June 20, 2010

The River–An Audio Post

With the studio now available for easy recording, songs have been coming to me on a regular basis. This is a great blessing as I went for a few years there thinking that I could not write music again. During the last few years, some songs have come to me that are fitting into a niche that I like. I am a spiritual person, but I do not feel a desire to limit myself to choosing to do either “Religious” music or “Secular” songs. Some of my songs are most definitely gospel-oriented, and that is intentional. But some of them are a bit more open to interpretation, and these are songs that I feel may be more acceptable to the general population.  I am currently compiling a collection of my songs of this genre and have begun recording them for a new CD.

The song I have posted here has a decidedly gospel feel–at least to me–but I think it may fit with the type of “gospel” music that includes “People Get Ready” and “Swing Low Sweet Chariot”. (Not that I am comparing this tune to those greats!) Anyway, I’ve just finished writing it and recorded a quick take with piano and harmonica. Tell me what you think!

Responses

  1. Nice!

  2. Okay, so here is MY HONEST opinion (as if I’d give anything less!). I really like it, BUT, I think it’s hard to hear the vocals over the piano — definitely over the harmonica. So, I know NOTHING about laying down music but if there was a way I would describe it, it would be that the volume is too high in the piano part and not enough in the vocal part. And then the harmonica washes them both out. Does that make sense? Now maybe it’s my cheezy speakers, though, I don’t think so cause I listen to music all the time.

    Other than that, I think you have a REAL sweet song here! I mean, I really like it, which is why I wish maybe you could adjust that?

    I’m glad you got your studio up and running — these are really fun and inspiring!

    Carmen

    • Thank you, that is great feedback. Mixing is the most difficult part of recording music. I’ve never recorded a harmonica before, and I kept pulling the levels down, but I think you are right–they need to come down farther. There will be more instruments added to this song by the time it’s finished. Thanks again!

      • Oh, good. I’m glad that made some sense and I wasn’t just “off my rocker”…

        I look forward to the next version!

  3. Me like. I’d also like a mix with the vocals more in the front, though. The harmonica really gives it something nice.

    • Thank you, Ken. That’s helpful as I tend to pull the vocals back

  4. That was beautiful Abe! The harmonica and piano together are nice. I agree that the volume on the harmonica is a little high in comparison to the vocals/piano. Overall it was GREAT though!

    • Thank you! It’s tough to get a mix that works on computer speakers! It sounds good in the studio, but the test is when I upload it and then it gets all muddy…I’ll keep working on it.

  5. Beautiful soul, as well as down to earth, sophisticated, and one funny man. Beautiful family and life you have Abe! You are blessed. Give that wife of yours a good butt cheek squeeze… Well, you already know what she wants. Ha! Amaste! Thanks for linking this, big guy!

    • Thank you, Cora! I’ll squeeze her good. Thank you for visiting my blog. Hope to see you again.


Leave a Reply

Categories

