Posted by: Abe's Blog | March 31, 2010

Hallelujah, An Audio Post

My personal music tastes have always tended towards the melancholy. Although I first heard the song “Hallelujah” many years ago, I was moved by the performance by Tom Waits of this tune in (of all things) the movie Shrek. What a great song. Way to make me cry during a stupid cartoon movie, singing hook-handed pirate!

After a half-year hiatus, I have begun to get involved with music again. I have written many songs over the years, but most are not recorded. I’m going to start doing that. In addition, I am also going to start learning to play these songs that I really love.  I pieced together enough parts in the studio to record this rough, live version of Leonard Cohen’s Hallelujah yesterday. This is my first try at an audio post, but I think if you click the following link you should be able to hear it right on this page. Golly. Try it and let me know how it works! It’s a mysterious experiment, okay?

                                                          

For those who are interested: This was recorded on a Boss Micro BR, using a Korg SP250 Keyboard on Electric Piano settings, a Seinheiser condenser microphone, and a Behringer mixing board. The audio file is a raw mp3 file exported directly from the Micro BR. Pretty simple, eh?

Responses

  1. i really enjoyed this bro

    • Thank you, Mr. Thomas. I’m glad you did.

  2. I love this song. I’ve heard a few versions before. I’ve never been disappointed. This was wonderful, Abe. Thanks so much for sharing!!!! I have a recommendation… edit this post to add the lyrics. As you know, I’m feeling kind of down after the recent loss of a dear friend and this song really helped set the tone for my current state of mind this evening.

    • I think that is a great idea, Suz. I know you’re going through a rough time. I’ll work on posting those into this blog. I think they are still down at the studio.

  3. You can’t go wrong with Leonard Cohen.

    • Yes, what an excellent song-writer!

  4. Excellent

    • Thank you, Jeremy! For some reason this comment went to my spam folder, so I just saw it!

  5. WOW Abe! I needed to hear this tonight — perfect timing! Beautiful!

    Glad to hear you’re getting back to your music – I’m excited that we might get to hear your recording soon? I hope so!

    Nadia!

    • Yes. Thanks, Nadia. I’m glad it was good timing for you. Sometimes things work out that way, huh?

  6. Nice!

  7. Unbelievable! This is one of my favorite songs! Quiets my spirit just listening to it. I didn’t realize just how much I’d missed your musical style. Truly beautiful

    • Thank you, Mika. Glad you liked it.

  8. Just played this one for my Alex… she’s got 3 yrs. vocal training now in choir and Honor choir. I’m hoping this doesn’t offend in any way… however, we thought perhaps you should try to redo this one using a more Legato style instead of the current Staccato style that you recorded the vocals in. LOL Just a thought.


Leave a Reply

Categories

